About the Department

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Carrollton Police Department is made up of 167 sworn officers, two additional police officers funded by federal grant, 53 full-time civilian employees, and ten additional part-time detention officers.  We serve a diverse North Texas community of 127,000 citizens in about 37 square miles. The Police Department is divided into two operational bureaus, each led by an Assistant Chief of Police.

The Operations Bureau led by Assistant Police Chief Derick Miller is comprised of the following uniformed services:

  • Patrol Division
  • Traffic Unit
  • Vehicle Crimes and Crash Investigations Teams
  • Bicycle Unit
  • K9 Unit
  • Community Service Officers
  • Volunteers

The Investigative and Management Services Bureau led by Assistant Police Chief Mike Martin is comprised of the following:

  • Criminal Investigations Division
  • new police badgeCovert Investigations
  • Intelligence Division
  • School Resource Officers
  • Training
  • Public Affairs/Media Relations
  • Personnel
  • Compliance Unit
  • Fiscal Affairs
  • Records Unit
  • Jail Operations


The Carrollton Police Department has been recognized by the Texas Police Chief’s Association as a “Recognized Agency” as part of their Best Practices Recognition Program since 2009. The Recognition Program is a voluntary process where police Police Recognition Patchagencies in Texas prove their compliance with 168 Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices. These Best Practices were carefully developed by Texas Law Enforcement professionals to assist agencies in the efficient and effective delivery of service, the reduction of risk and the protection of individual’s rights. The Recognition Program assures both City Leaders and the citizens of Carrollton that their Police Department is operating in a manner that reflects the current Best Practices of Law Enforcement and we are proud of this accomplishment.