Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday - 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Fridays - 7:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Se habla Español. Llame al 972-466-3348 o pase a nuestra oficina.
Select From the Following Four Options
العربية • 한국어 • Español • Tiếng Việt
|1. PLEAD "NO CONTEST" OR "GUILTY" AND PAY THE FINE|
|Please Note: Paying your fine results in a final conviction in your case, waiver of your right to a jury trial and waiver of your right to review the evidence, if any, in your case.
Note: A 2% service fee is added to credit/debit card payments.
If you request a 10-day extension to pay, you will NOT be eligible to take the Driving Safety Course.
In a hurry? If you choose to plead guilty or no contest and simply want to pay the fine, get a receipt and go, there is a convenient 24-hour payment kiosk located outside the court's main entrance. It accepts cash or credit cards.
|2. PLEAD "NOT GUILTY" AND REQUEST A TRIAL|
If you wish to plead not guilty, you or your attorney must appear in person at the Court on or before the response date on your citation. Court Hearings CANNOT be scheduled by telephone. Once a trial date is set the Deferral and DSC options are no longer available.
|3. REQUEST DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (DSC) OR MOTORCYCLE OPERATOR TRAINING COURSE|
You must make this request by the response date on the front of your citation. If you fail to request Driving Safety by the response date on your citation you will lose this option.
|4. REQUEST DEFERRED DISPOSITION (PROBATION)|
If you request Deferred Disposition by mail or in person, you must do so by the response date on the front of your citation.
Failure to complete one of the four options shown above on or before the response date on the front of this citation will result in:
- A warrant being issued for your arrest and the fine amount will be the maximum allowed by law PLUS Court costs and fees.
- A request to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the denial of driver license renewal.
- If a warrant for your arrest is issued, you will be subject to arrest at your home, place of business or wherever you may be found.
A telephone call does not constitute a response. Inability to pay this fine is not an excuse for failure to answer. Fine payment extensions may be granted at the time of appearance.
You and your parent are required to appear before the Court. You and your parent have a legal obligation to provide the Court in writing with your current address and residence. The obligation does not end when you reach the age of 17. On or before the seventh day after the date you or your parent change residence, you or your parent shall notify the Court of the current address by completing a “Juvenile Change of Address” form. A violation of this requirement may result in arrest and is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by fine up to $500.00. The obligation terminates only on full discharge and satisfaction of the judgment. “Juvenile Change of Address” forms are available at the Court Clerk’s window.
This court does not provide direct legal services, represent individuals in legal matters, maintain a list of pro bono attorneys, or match individuals with pro bono attorneys. Please understand that funding for legal services is extremely limited and as a result, programs must turn away many with serious legal needs. At most, the State Bar of Texas can offer you referrals to low-cost civil legal services agencies in your area. For a listing of legal service providers by county, see the Referral Directory for Low-Income Texans (PDF).
If you do not qualify for legal aid, contact the Lawyer Referral Information Service at 1-800-252-9690. Through the Lawyer Referral Information Service, a person may have a thirty-minute consultation with an attorney for $20. At the end of the consultation, the attorney and individual may discuss possible representation and price structure. Please understand that the Lawyer Referral Information Service is not a pro bono or reduced-fee program. See links below which are listed on the State's - - Texas Judicial Branch - Legal Aid website: Texas Judicial Branch - Legal Aid
- TexasLawHelp.org - A website for low-income Texans with free information and other self-help legal forms
- TexasCourtHelp.org - A website with general information and videos about making your way through the court system
- Referral Directory for Low-Income Texans (PDF)
- Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans - A State Bar of Texas project helping low-income military veterans with legal issues
- Legal Aid of Northwest Texas - serves the Dallas/ Ft. Worth area and Northwest Texas
INABILITY TO PAY FINE
If you do not appeal the Court’s decision but are financially unable to pay the fine when due, you must appear at the Court’s Collections Department to complete an application for a time payment plan or community service. If you qualify for a time payment plan or community service, the Court may allow you to either pay the fine in installments or discharge the fine by performing community service.
To commend or complain on a City Marshal: Commendations and complaints can be delivered to the Court Administrator by mail to the address below. Texas law requires that all complaints against Police Officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. All complaints must be sworn to and notarized. Filing a False Complaint against a Police Officer is a violation of Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02.Carrollton Municipal Court
Attn: COURT ADMINISTRATOR
P.O. Box 110535
Carrollton, TX 75011
Notice: Nothing contained on this site is intended as legal advice. You may wish to consult an attorney before deciding which option is appropriate for you.